Databases & Directories: How to Find the Information You Need in Dallas.
Prepared by staff of the Dallas Public Library’s
Urban Information Center.
Introduction The document you are now viewing is a pathfinder, which highlights the best tools we know of to find information about child care, schools, crime, demographics and more. If you notice omissions or have ideas or suggestions, please send us an email. (For voter information, see Who Represents You?)
- Databases
- Specialized Directories & Guides
- Schools & Children
- Government Records
1) Databases
Census 2000: North Central Texas Council of Governments
If you are looking for Census 2000 data in the DFW area, this is the best place to start. You can download data electronically or even generate a report of demographics within a certain radius of your location. Or choose your zip code or census tract. To find out what census tract you live in, click on this link. For a quick, statistical overview of Dallas demographics, click on this link.
Community Information Database: Nonprofits, Agencies & Associations
The Community Information Database (CID) has contact information for 5,500 community organizations located in the Dallas area, including nonprofits, business associations, hobby groups, government agencies and more. A browsable list of subject terms is also available online.
Crime Statistics: Dallas Police Department
There are several ways to access crime information in Dallas:
- The Dallas Police Department publishes crime maps online.
- For crime data by zipcodes, see the Analyze Dallas database.
- To access crime data by police reporting areas or to access the sex offender registry use this link. To find out what police beat or reporting area you live in, use this online map, being sure to click inside the square labeled “Check this box…”.
(Note that the Dallas Police Department makes available an online Residential Reference Guide and Apartment Reference Guide to assist neighborhood Crime Watch groups.)
Dallas Central Appraisal District: Property Tax Information
Here you can search properties owned by individuals or corporations, either by street address or by the owner’s name. There are line drawings of buildings on each property, square footage, assessed values, market values and more.
Dallas City Code
Use this site to search for local City codes. (Note that building, mechanical and plumbing and codes are not available online. These can be accessed at the Building Inspection Office or at the Central Library, 6th floor.)
Dallas County Elections Department
Registered Dallas County voters can find their precinct by entering their names in the “Voter Registration Information” database. Or, simply enter a street address. (Note: For further voter information, see our webpage called “Who represents me?”)
Dallas International
DFW International is a coalition of over 1,600 North Texas immigrant, ethnic, and internationally focused civic, community and educational organizations. Resources include lists of local ethnic organizations, dance and music workshops and performers and a comprehensive guide to English as a Second Language (ESL) classes.
Foundation for Community Empowerment (FCE)
Analyze Dallas brings together data from a variety of sources on demographics, crime, housing, transportation and more and makes it available at various geographies, including census tracts, zipcodes and City Council districts. FCE is a partner in the Dallas Indicators project, a repository of key community measures on housing, health, environment, education, etc. (Most of the information takes the form of tables, lists or reports.)
iCommunities: North Central Texas Council of Governments
This database from the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) enables you to find out many details about street addresses in the area. You can even choose to see aerial photographs.
MLA Language Map Data Center
The Modern Language Association has created an easy-to-use database containing Census 2000 data about languages spoken at home. By plugging in a zip code, you can easily see what languages are spoken in a given area, including the number of individual speakers.
Reference USA
Use your Dallas Public Library card to log in to this frequently updated database of residential and business telephone numbers. You can search businesses using SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) or NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes and download selected records into spreadsheets.
Regional Directory
This annual publication from the North Central Texas Council of Governments is available for purchase or as a free, online database. It includes elected and administrative officials and contact information for cities, counties, school districts and special taxing districts.
Traffic Counts
Want to find out how many vehicles per day pass by a particular location?
Simply enter a street name in this database. Traffic counts are estimated vehicle volumes for an average 24-hour period. In most cases, the count is for both directions of travel combined.
Volunteer Center of North Texas
Looking for a way to give back to your community? The Volunteer Center of North Texas offers an online database of volunteer opportunities and also publishes and annual guide, around the winter holidays.
WiFi Hotspots
Laptop computer users may consult sites from Auscillate or WifiFreeSpot to locate hotspots in the area. Note that some sites connect to services requiring registration and payment by the hour.
top
2) Specialized Directories & Guides
Animal Rescue Groups
There are well over 100 breed-specific animal rescue groups active in the Dallas area. Here are two ways to find them:
- Search the Community Information Database for dogs or animals and animal interest as a subject heading.
- The North Texas Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals on this page lists local animal breed rescue groups.
Dallas / Fort Worth Media Directory
This directory, updated quarterly, contains names and contact information for broadcast and print media published in the Dallas / Fort Worth area, including foreign-language publications. [Ref. 302.23025 F494]
Directory of Dallas County Foundations
Based on the latest available IRS Form 990-PF and information from the foundations, the Directory provides essential data on 472 private foundations located in Dallas County and the cities of Plano and McKinney. [Ref. 361.70257 D598 2001]
Community Council of Greater Dallas
The Community Council produces a number of essential guides to human services, some of which are freely available from their Website and some of which are available for sale. It also staffs a hotline offering comprehensive information on human services, including emergency services. To access the hotline, simply dial 211.
- Sourcebook 2005
Reference resource listing of several hundred nonprofit agencies and services in Dallas, Collin, Denton, Ellis and Rockwall Counties. Includes agency name, location, telephone, executive director, and hours of operation; detailed description of services for each agency; accessibility information for hearing, vision and mobility impaired persons. [Ref. 362.025 D598]
- Aging Information Office Directory of Services & Caregiver’s Guide
Specialized directory of services and family caregiver guide for seniors. Includes listings for over 300 governmental nonprofit and private agencies and programs which provide services for senior citizens in Dallas County. [Ref. 362.60257 A26]
D / FW Party & Event Planner’s Sourcebook
This publication includes a wealth of useful information, including which restaurants have private rooms available for rental [Ref. 642.4 D14]. (You may also search on facilities or venues in the Library’s Community Information Database.)
Greater Dallas Chamber of Commerce Directories
http://www.dallaschamber.org
- Dallas/Fort Worth Business Directory
The 1998 publication of manufacturers, professional and business service firms. Includes more than 10,000 listings and 16,000 contacts. Organized alphabetically by company name, with city and SIC code indices. [Ref. 331.128 D145] (Note: A 2003 edition is now in publication.)
- Industrial Guide
A guide to the Dallas area’s industrial real estate market. Providing detailed information on industrial market statistics and categorizes industrial properties by sub-market. Listings include building name, address, Mapsco number, leasing agent, square footage and more. Also features a condensed version of our popular “Dallas At A Glance.†(quarterly) [Ref. 338.09764 G946]
- Office Guide
A thorough inventory of office space in the greater Dallas area, with more than 1,000 office buildings listed, divided into 11 sub-markets. Listings include building name, address, leasing agent, phone number, rental rates, square footage and more. This book also features a condensed version of our popular “Dallas At A Glance” (quarterly) [Ref. 333.3387 G946]
- Texas High Technology Directory
The 2003 annual directory of high technology firms in Texas. Includes 4,500 company profiles, over 13,500 executives with titles. All companies are cross-indexed by city, product, SIC code and number of employees. [Ref. 338.74 T355]
top
3) Schools & Children
The Library’s Community Information Database lists information on nearly 50 summer programs for children. (If you are aware of programs that are not included here, please use this form to suggest additions. We are mainly including programs run by nonprofit organizations, such as museums, or public agencies.)
500+ Places For Kids: A Guide to Before and After School Programs In Dallas County.
As the name suggests, this handy compendium lists resources for before and after school care.
The Childcare Directory
This annual publication provides comprehensive listings for daycare options in Dallas and many surrounding suburbs. [Ref. 362.70976 C536]
Dallas Public Schools - School & Staff Directory
This is an annual publication listing details about public schools in Dallas. [Ref. 370.25 D145]
A Guide to DFW Private Schools
Directory of private schools in the Dallas / Fort Worth Metroplex, useful for locating and comparing educational options.
[Ref. 371.02025 M194G 2000]
isdCommunities
This site provides maps of Independent School Districts in the region. It also provides a basic, statistical overview of each school district. Provided by the North Central Texas Council of Governments.
Texas Education Agency’s Academic Excellence Indicator System
These reports provide information on how different schools stack up on the TAKS (Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills) test.
Texas Department of Family & Protective Services - Child Care Finder
This agency, which regulates daycares and residential facilities, provides an online database of licensed child care providers.
The Web Guide to DFW Private Schools
This is an online version of the book listed just above. It lets you do things like search for schools located just in a particular zipcode.
top
4) Government Records
Dallas County Clerk’s Office
For information on how to obtain vital records, including birth and death certificates, see this website. Copies of marriage licenses are also available from the County Clerk as are criminal records. If you cannot go in person, try the online records search. It is free to search, but a fee is charged to view the results. Details are online.
Texas Department of Public Safety
This database contains information on sex offenders, criminal history and missing persons. Registration and fees apply. See website for details. (To search for registered sex offenders by zipcode in Dallas, see the Dallas Police Department website).
top