About the Grants Information Service
The Grants Information Service offers the latest information on foundations, grants, proposal writing, fundraising, volunteerism and nonprofit management. We are a cooperating organization with the Foundation Center. Our many resources include:
Foundation Center Publications
top
Other Publications
top
Other Reference Sources
- 990-PF’s (tax returns) for Texas foundations
- Annual reports for many foundations
- Clipping file: foundations and general nonprofit information
- Large selection of periodicals (including Better Business Bureau Wise Giving Guide, Chronicle of Philanthropy, Council Council Columns, Community, Federal Grants & Contracts Weekly, Foundation & Corporate Grants Alert, FRM Weekly, Fund Raising Management, Grassroots Fundraising Journal, Journal of Volunteer Administration, Nonprofit Times, Nonprofit World, Opportunity 501, Philanthropy Monthly and Philanthropy World).
- FC Search - The Foundation Center’s database on CD-ROM. A fully searchable database of over 47,000 U.S. foundations and corporate givers. It is updated every six months.
top
New Bookshelf

Fundraising
Fundraising for the Small Community, by Kevin B. Kent. (658.15224 K37F 2003)
A practical guide that focuses on the fundraising needs of the smaller community; Kent covers how to form a nonprofit, fundraisers, planning for a capital project, grant procedures and more. The book includes real examples explained in a clear and concise manner followed by practical advice that is easy to follow.
Grassroots Grants: An Activist’s Guide to Grantseeking, by Andy Robinson. (658.15224 R658G 2004)
In his revised second edition of the guide to grantseeking, author and activist Andy Robinson walks you through the challenges of incorporating grants into a complete fundraising program. This updated edition keeps pace with the changing times and contains all new budget and model proposals, interviews with funders and timely information about grantseeking on the Internet.
How to Write Knockout Proposals, by Joseph Barbato. (658.15224 B231H 2004)
With 30 years as a grantseeker, Barbato distills the most important information about proposal writing into a realistic compendium of tips. His book may be read in a single setting and yet provides an invaluable roadmap for all of us seeking to raise money.
Nonprofit Internet Strategies: Best Practices for Marketing, Communications and Fundraising, by Ted Hart. (658.05467 N814 2005)
A comprehensive book that will help all types of charitable organizations analyze and select best practices for developing Internet strategies to integrate with their traditional marketing, communications and fundraising methods. These proven, practical methods will help advance their causes, inform their public, raise public trust in their mission and engender gifts, grants, contributions and volunteer supporters.
top
Proposal Writing
The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Grant Writing, by Waddy Thompson. (658.15224 T478C 2003)
This breezy, basic book clearly outlines in a step-by-step process all the bases that are critical to writing a compelling proposal. The book includes tips on how to spark the maximum interest of potential funders, profiles of grantors, suggestions to obtain testimonials and sample budget worksheets. An accompanying CD-ROM offers sample proposals, budget worksheets, thank you letters and Internet links.
The Everything Grant Writing Book, by Nancy Burke Smith and Judy Tremore. (658.15224 T791E 2003) A comprehensive “how-to” book, the authors explain the components of grants proposals and offer lessons on how to write project descriptions, action plans and timetables. You will learn how to design evaluation plans, develop budgets and find partner agencies to collaborate with. The book is filled with samples, charts and letters, as well as complete government and foundation grant proposals you can refer to.
top
Search 990’s
The Foundation Center - 990 Finder
This database offers a number of different ways to access 990’s, including name, EIN, city, zipcode, etc.
Grantsmart.org - www.grantsmart.org
A database containing some 225,000 Form 990 tax returns filed by 80,000 private foundations and charitable trusts.
GuideStar - www.guidestar.org
This searchable database of more than 620,000 nonprofit organizations, public charities and some private foundations, includes the organization’s assets, liabilities, revenue and expenditures.
Understanding Form 990 http://www.guidestar.org/news/features/understand_990.jsp
Use this handy guide to learn how to decipher the various parts of a Form 990.
Internet Sources
Action Without Borders - www.idealist.org
Lists over 20,000 nonprofit and community organizations in 140 countries, which can be searched by name, location or mission. Also includes job and internship listings and a directory of products and services to nonprofit organizations.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance - www.cfda.gov
This is a complete listing of federal grant programs, projects, services and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the public. It includes summary program descriptions and is searchable by keyword.
Center for Nonprofit Management - www.cnmdallas.org
Provides a calendar of classes and seminars offered to enhance management skills of managers in nonprofit organizations, information about their consulting services and short term loan program.Charity Navigator - www.charitynavigator.org
Evaluates the financial health and efficiency of American charities and provides ratings to guide donors. Collects statistics and ranks charities according to different criteria.
Council on Foundations - www.cof.org
Contains information for grantmaking foundations and corporations. Provides resources to help grantmakers set up and administer effective giving programs.
Federal Register - www.gpoaccess.gov/fr/
A publication of proposed rules and regulations, grant announcements and notices from Federal agencies. This database is searchable from 1995 to present.
Foundation Center - www.fdncenter.org
The Foundation Center is an independent national service organization that provides authoritative information on foundation and corporate giving. The site contains many useful links to foundation information, a short course on proposal writing, a free newsletter, Philanthropy News Digest, and an excellent frequently asked questions section.
Funding Information Center of Fort Worth - www.fic-ftw.org
Offers grantseekers information about the Center’s library, upcoming workshops, volunteer and nonprofit job opportunities and local networking resources.
Grants.gov - www.grants.gov
The Federal Government’s one-stop shop for grants related information now provides a service that will notify you electronically when new government grants are announced in the Federal Register. For details, click on the “Find Grant Opportunities” tab.
top
Grantsmanship Center - www.tgci.com
Contains a complete list of training seminars on proposal writing and strategic fundraising offered across the U.S. It also provides links to nonprofit resources for accounting, finance, legal resources, online fundraising, research, newsgroups and employment.
Hoover’s Online - www.hoovers.com
Provides summary information on more than 4,000 companies, with links to their web sites and to Internet business newspapers.
National Society of Fund Raising Executives (NSFRE) - www.nsfre.org
Provides chapter and event information, general fund raising news and a consultant’s directory.
Nonprofit Gateway - www.nonprofit.gov
A starting point to help nonprofit organizations access online Federal information and services. Linked to all Cabinet departments and many agencies, it contains information about grants, regulations, taxes and other services.
Nonprofit Resource Center of Texas - www.nprc.org
Provides class information, job listings, training and consulting services, library information and volunteer requests for nonprofit and philanthropic communities.
NPOnline Legal Information - www.ayla.org/npointro.html
Offers free information on legal issues affecting Texas nonprofits. Submit your specific or general legal question by completing the online form. A volunteer Austin-area attorney knowledgeable in nonprofit legal matters will respond within 14 days or less.
Philanthropy.org (Chronicle of Philanthropy) - www.philanthropy.org
Provides news summaries of its top stories, a few full text articles, announcement of conferences, application deadlines and job opportunities in the nonprofit community.
PubHub: A Repository of Foundation: Sponsored Reports www.fdncenter.org/gainknowledge/pubhub/
A one-stop shopping site for Foundation-sponsored reports. Reports issued or sponsored by foundations contain a wealth of information on practices, policies and issues relating to philanthropy and the public good. To tap into these documents with the greatest efficiency, try the Foundation Center’s PubHub.
Humanities Texas - www.humanitiestexas.org/
Provides financial support to nonprofit organizations and institutions for educational programs in the humanities aimed at public audiences. Grants are awarded to not-for-profit educational, cultural, and civic organizations.
Texas Nonprofit Management Assistance Network - www.texasnetwork.org/
A coordinated network of centers and organizations, strategically located throughout Texas, that delivers quality management support services and resources to the nonprofit sector
Texas Register - www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/
Includes filing guide information for nonprofit associations and notification of proposed, adopted and withdrawn state agency rules.
Texas State Grants Team - http://www.governor.state.tx.us/divisions/stategrants
The State Grants Team’s mission is to alert entities throughout Texas about funding opportunities.
Window on State Government - www.window.state.tx.us
Offers a broad selection of in-depth government information about state expenditures, current tax revenue, future economic/demographic trends and a compilation of resources about public and private funding opportunities.
top