
Municipal Reference & Research: A Resource Guide
Prepared by staff of the Dallas Public Library’s Urban Information Center.
The document you are now viewing is a pathfinder, developed to facilitate research into issues of practical concern to municipal governments. If you have a question or if we have omitted a resource, please send us an email. The links below focus upon library collection development resources, national and Texas professional associations and municipal reference and research organizations.
- City Auditors Online
- Collection Development
- Databases
- Professional Associations - National
- Professional Associations - Texas
- Municipal Reference Libraries / Services
- Research & Policy Organizations
I. City Auditors Online
- NALGA (National Association of Local Government Auditors)
- Albuquerque, N.M.
- Austin, Tex.
- Baltimore, Md.
- Boston, Mass.
- Charlotte, N.C.
- Chicago, Ill.
- Cleveland, Ohio
- Columbus, Ohio
- Dallas, Tex.
- Denver, Colo.
- Detroit, Mich.
- El Paso, Tex.
- Houston, Tex.
- Indianapolis, Ind.
- Jacksonville, Fla.
- Las Vegas, Nev.
- Long Beach, Calif.
- Los Angeles, Calif.
- Memphis, Tenn.
- Milwaukee, Wis.
- New York City
- Nashville-Davidson, Tenn.
- New Orleans, La.
- Oakland, Calif.
- Oklahoma City, Okla.
- Philadelphia, Pa.
- Phoenix, Ariz.
- Portland, Ore.
- San Antonio, Tex.
- San Diego, Calif.
- San Francisco, Calif.
- San Jose, Calif.
- Seattle, Wash.
- Tucson, Ariz.
- Washington, DC
top
II. Collection Development
The links below should be useful to anyone purchasing books for a municipal reference collection.
Architecture, Landscape & City Planning
Book Reviews & Bibliographies
City Management, Auditing & Finance
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Demographics
Economic Development, Housing, Land Use & Taxation
Firefighting
Forensics / Police / Criminal Justice
Law & Regulation
Parks & Recreation
Public Health & Social Science
Regional
Transportation & Public Works
Urban History, Geography, Public Policy & Miscellaneous
Architecture, Landscape & City Planning
Book Reviews & Bibliographies
City Management, Auditing & Finance
Civil & Environmental Engineering
top
Demographics
Economic Development, Housing, Land Use & Taxation
Environment / Sustainability / Community Organizing
Firefighting
Forensics / Police / Criminal Justice
top
Law & Regulation
Parks & Recreation
Public Administration
Public Health & Social Science
Regional
Test Preparation
Transportation & Public Works
Urban History, Geography, Public Policy & Miscellaneous
top
III. Databases & Email Lists
The following databases and email lists are of interest to librarians and others engaged in municipal reference related research.
IV. Professional Associations - National
top
V. Texas Associations
American Planning Association - Texas Chapter
top
VI. Municipal Reference Libraries / Services
top
VII. Research & Policy Organizations
top
top