corner corner


         (214) 670-1400 | webmaster@dallaslibrary.org

corner corner
spacer spacer spacer

Starting a Nonprofit in Dallas

July 19th, 2007



Useful Websites

These websites provide information and advice on practical and legal issues.

MAGAZINES

The Grants Information Center subscribes to a number of magazines and journals of interest to the nonprofit community. These and other titles are available on the 6th floor of the Central Library:

top


3) Funding your organization.

The J. Erik Jonsson Central Library hosts a Foundation Center Cooperating Collection on the 6th floor. See these web pages for details:

Databases at the Library

These databases, together with many printed directories available on the 6th floor of the Central Library, can help to research foundations that are interested in funding organizations like yours.

  • FC Search (The Foundation Center): “A comprehensive listing of active U.S. foundations and corporate giving programs and their associated grants. It includes a Grantmaker File of more than 72,000 records, and a Grants File with more than 300,000 grants of $10,000 or more awarded by the nation’s largest funders. You may also link directly to the Web sites of approximately 3,700 of the nation’s top foundations, as well as more than 1,900 corporate Web sites.”
  • Foundation Grants to Individuals (The Foundation Center): “Foundation Grants to Individuals on CD-ROM is an electronic version of the Foundation Center’s classic print publication. Its fast-speed format allows you to quickly search through a comprehensive database of over 4,000 foundations and public charities that fund a wide range of needs for individuals.”

NOTE: To access these databases, you must come to the Central Library’s Grants Information Service; there is no access available from other Library Branches.

top


4) Staffing your organization.The following sites provide nonprofit job seekers and/or volunteers access to nonprofit organizations and employers:

The Library’s Community Information Database includes local agencies that provide volunteer opportunities. We would be happy to list your organization as well.

If you have comments or questions, call the Grants Information Service at 214-670-1468 or send us an email. The J. Erik Jonsson Central Library is located at 1515 Young St. in downtown Dallas. Our hours are Mon.-Thur. 9am-9pm, Fri.-Sat. 9am-5pm and Sun. 1-5pm.

top

Login

Homepage | Catalog | Events | Library Locations