|
The Urban Information Center at the Dallas Public Library was established in 1982 as a repository for current local documents produced by the City of Dallas. It has grown to encompass books, magazines and other resources that relate to running a city, providing city services and the many different facets of city life.
The collection is organized around this question: What does it take for a city—including its citizens and its leaders—to meet its challenges, solve its problems and flourish in an age of rapid social, economic and technological change?
This unit also provides municipal reference services to city agencies.
Among the subjects included in our Municipal Reference and Circulating Collections are:
- Affordable Housing
- City Planning
- Civil Service Test Preparation
- Crime Scene Forensics
- Criminology & Corrections*
- Demographics, Local & National
- Economic Development
- Fire Fighting
- Foundations
- Grassroots Organizing*
- Green Building
- Homelessness
- Mass Transit
- Municipal Management
- Municipal Water & Sewage
- Parks & Landscape Architecture
- Police Science
- Poverty Studies
- Public Administration, Finance & Auditing*
- Recycling & Community Gardens*
- Smart Growth & The New Urbanism
- Social Marketing*
- Urban Sociology & History*
- Youth Development
- Zoning
*(Note: These subjects may also be found in other parts of the library, such as the History & Social Sciences or Business & Technology sections.)
top
Dallas Documents
This collection includes documents, reports and studies published by a wide range of agencies, including:
- Departments of the City of Dallas (i.e., Parks & Recreation, the Library, the Housing Department)
- The North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG)
- The Dallas Independent School District (DISD)
- Dallas County
- Parkland Hospital
- Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART)
- Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport
Here you will also find many engineering studies, master plans and documents placed for public review in compliance with various agency regulations. There are also budgets from some of our neighboring Cities, such as Fort Worth and Garland. Our goal is to develop this collection into a regional repository, useful for citizens and City staffers alike. If you know of documents that should be in our collection, but are not, please let us know about them! Our email address is cid@dallaslibrary.org.
top
Community Information Database
The Community Information Database (CID), has contact information for 5,000 community organizations located in the Dallas area, can help you find your way. CID can help you answer questions like:
It covers a broad range of organizations, including: professional associations, hobby and interest groups, neighborhood coalitions, social service agencies, political interest groups and governmental entities. A list of browsable subject headings is available online. To UPDATE your group’s record, use this form.
- To access the database either click on this link or…
- Point your browser to http://catalog.dallaslibrary.org;
- Click on the DPL Catalog button;
- Click on the “Community Information” hyperlink on the left side of the screen.
We can generate gummed mailing labels or lists from the database. It normally requires at least 3-working days. Labels are $.05 each. Call 214-670-1468 or email cid@dallaslibrary.org for details.
top
Community Information File
Our vertical file includes brochures, pamphlets, reports, studies, newsletters and presentations from Dallas area organizations, including: area non-profits, the Dallas City Council, local government agencies, places of interest and more.
This kind of ephemeral, printed material is invaluable for doing local history. If your organization publishes material of this kind, we will be very glad if you would add us to your mailing list. Our address is as follows:
Urban Information Center
Dallas Public Library, 6th floor
1515 Young St.
Dallas, TX 75228
Currently, we have files on some 4,500 organizations and subjects of local interest. (Please note that other Dallas Public Library units — including Genealogy, Texas / Dallas History & Archives and Fine Arts — may have files on groups that are not listed here.)
top
Urban Periodicals
Consistent with our mission to support citizens, city staff, researchers and students interested in all facets of the urban situation, we subscribe to a number of professional publications and journals on subjects like city planning, fire fighting and economic development. Titles currently received include the following:
- American Journal of Criminal Justice
- Biocycle
- City Journal
- Communities: A Journal of Cooperative Living
- Fire Chief
- Fire News (National Fire Protection Association)
- In Business: Creating Sustainble Enterprises & Communities
- JEMS: Journal of Emergency Medical Services
- Journal of Criminal Justice
- Journal of Criminal Law And Criminology
- Journal of Government Financial Management
- Journal of Planning Literature
- Journal of Urban Affairs
- Journal of Urban Planning & Development
- Land Use Digest
- Mass Transit
- Municipal Year Book
- Nations Cities Weekly
- Next American City
- NFPA Journal, News & Update News (National Fire Protection Association)
- Parks And Recreation
- The Perryman Report (regional economy)
- Places: Design for the Public Realm
- Planning
- Planning Commissioners Journal
- Police Chief
- Proceedings National Fire Protection Association
- Public Administration Review
- Public Art Review
- Public Finance Review
- Public Management
- Public Manager
- Public Performance & Management Review
- Sage Public Administration Abstracts
- Shelterforce: The Journal of Affordable Housing & Community Building
- Texas Monthly
- Texas Town And City
- The Town Paper (New Urbanism)
- Urban Land
- Urban Lawyer
- Water & Wastes Digest
- World Watch
- Yes! Building a Just & Sustainable World
Other periodicals are available through our subscription databases which are available to Dallas Public Library card holders. Use this locator to discover which electronic collections have the titles you are looking for.
top
|