To see a complete list of the contents and a description of any of the databases on our left, please just click on them as you would with a webpage. To return to this screen simply click on "Reset Page" at the bottom of the site.
Everything will be displayed in this window for ease of navigation, remember if you have any difficulty you can always ask a librarian for help.
Booksinprint.com (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)
Provides users with access to:
Newsbank (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)
Dallas Morning News Archive with full text coverage from 1885 through 1977, and August 1984 to the present, is available through Newsbank.
DASH: Live Homework Help (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)
Connects you with
free, one-to-one live tutor for Grades 4th to 12 and college
intro level in the subjects of English, Math, Science and
Social Studies. DASH is available every day from 3pm–10
pm. En español para la matemáticas y la ciencia, domingo
a jueves 3pm–9 pm.
EBSCOhost (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)
Includes MasterFILE
Premier, indexing 2,700 general reference, business, health,
social science, education, science, humanities and news
and current events titles (coverage from 1/84). 1,800 titles
have searchable full text (coverage from 1/90). Also
includes Clinical Reference Systems, Health Source Plus,
(full text for 255 health periodicals) and USP DI Volume
II, Advice for the Patient, etc.
EBSCOhost Auto Repair Center (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)
The auto repair information contained in this Auto Repair Reference Center™ database will cover the complete automotive repair manuals that were originally published in the Chilton Total Car Care Series.
The content will include more than 150 easy-to-read, illustrated auto repair manuals on all auto repair procedures for about 21,000 vehicles identified in the AAIA table (a table of numerical ID codes for every car made); more than 56,000 Technical Service Bulletins; wiring diagrams; and labor time estimates. Text and many images will be available in PDF and GIF format.
Every major manufacturer for domestic and imported vehicles is represented including auto repair manuals for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954. New repair procedures/updates will be added continuously, and Technical Service Bulletins will be added on a monthly or quarterly basis.
EBSCOhost
(Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)
Spanish language
interface to EBSCOhost. Articles may
be translated from English to Spanish or other languages
by specifying the output language in the "Escoger Idioma"
drop-down box and then clicking the "Traducir"
button.
Fiction Connection(Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)
Fiction Connection helps uncover books that are of interest to you based on other books that you already enjoy. For instance if you enjoyed George R.R. Martin's A Game of Thrones Fiction Connection would suggest other epic fantasy novels to you allowing for further customization based upon the topics, characters, and other criteria that were of particular interest.
InfoTrac (via Texshare) (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)
Includes Custom Newspapers (Austin American
Statesman 1/96-, Christian Science Monitor 1/96-, Dallas
Morning News 1/96-, Fort Worth Star Telegram 5/99-, Houston
Chronicle 1/96-, Knight Ridder 1/96-4/99, L.A. Times 1/96-,
N.Y. Times rolling 90 day file, Washington Post 1/96-) and
Health Reference Center-Academic, 1996- (articles on Fitness,
Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health,
Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs,
Prescription Drugs, etc.)
LearnATest.com (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)
A source of test preparation materials and interactive practice exams, based on official tests, that will help you improve your scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams. LearnATest now includes TAKS preparation exams.
LearnATest.com provides immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and individualized analysis of your score.
To gain FREE access to the LearnATest.com's test preparation materials you will need to register.
Morningstar.com (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)
Morningstar provides access to information about stocks and educate individuals interested in investment and evaluating their stock portfolio.
NetLibrary
Provides Dallas Public Library card
holders access to more than 27,000 electronic books,
viewable using the free Adobe Reader.
NewsBank Online Service (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)
Dallas Morning News 1984-current: Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Dallas Morning News Archive (1885-1977): a unique full-image digital collection documenting major events in Texas, nationally and internationally as reported in the newspaper.
National newspaper package (530 newspapers including New York Times): Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. The New York Times archives date back to the year of 2000. Other major newspapers also have archives, ranging from 1 year to 10+ years.
Texas newspaper package: It is similar to the National newspaper package except it covers all Texas major newspapers. Also includes archives, ranging from 1 year to 5 years.
America's Obituaries and Death Notices: an unique resource providing easy access to obituaries and death notices across the United States, assisting patrons seeking information on family history, creating genealogy charts, or looking for current information.
ReferenceUSA (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)
Business Module: Over 14 million businesses. Data includes: Company Name, Address , Phone Number, Fax Number, Estimated Sales Volume, Number of Employees, Type of Business (SIC Code or Yellow Page Heading), Key Contact Names, Titles and Gender, Credit Rating Code, Company Financials, Stock Information, Public Filings, and News Headlines/Articles from over 900 different sources.
Residential Module: 120 million consumer households. Data includes: Name, Address, City, State, ZIP Code, Phone Number, Age, Median Income, Median Home Value
Spanishbooksinprint.com (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)
Tu recurso formal e imparcial para titulos en español!
Busque libros, titulos audio y titulos video en venta, no en venta, y próximos. Titulos españoles y información detallado sobre editoriales.
World Book Online (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)
All articles from the 22-volume print set of the World Book Encyclopedia, plus
3,200 more; 15,000 Web links; links to over 30,000 articles
in 107 periodicals; over 8,500 pictures and maps; more than
800 videos, animations, and sounds; 129
Photofact Online (Currently ONLY available at the library.)
Database of manuals covering more than 200,000 models in the consumer electronics market. Current products include HDTV, rear projection and LCD TVs.
Note: This database works best with Internet Explorer and will not authenticate properly without it.
The resources listed above -- including books, magazine and journal articles -- are available at any one of our library locations or, if you have a Dallas library card, from home, school or office. Simply enter your 14-digit Dallas Public Library card number after clicking on the link. (Your library card number appears under the barcode on your card or keychain tag.)
Tools to Assist You