corner corner


         (214) 670-1400 | webmaster@dallaslibrary.org

corner corner
spacer spacer spacer

Electronic Resources

The following resources -- including books, magazine and journal articles -- can be accessed from any one of our 26 library locations or, if you have a Dallas library card, from home, school or office. Simply enter your 14-digit Dallas Public Library card number after clicking on the link.  (Your library card number appears under the barcode on your card or keychain tag.) 

If you don't already have one, please see How to Get a Library Card.

The resources in the bulleted list below are available only at the J. Erik Jonsson Central Library. (They are not accessible via the Internet.)

Available from anywhere


Books in Print

Booksinprint.com Provides users with access to:

  • The complete Books in Print Database of US titles
  • Books Out-of-Print
  • Children's Books In Print
  • Forthcoming Books
  • Bowker's Publisher Authority Database
  • Bowker's Complete Video Directory
  • Words on Cassette

top


Dallas Morning News
Newsbank (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)

Dallas Morning News Archive with full text coverage from 1885 through 1977, and August 1984 to the present, is available through Newsbank.

 

top


DASH Homework Help Logo
DASH: Live Homework Help (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.) Connects you with free, one-to-one live tutor for Grades 4th to 12 and college intro level in the subjects of English, Math, Science and Social Studies. DASH is available every day from 3pm–10 pm. En español para la matemáticas y la ciencia, domingo a jueves 3pm–9 pm.  
 

top

ebscohost EBSCOhost (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)

Includes MasterFILE Premier, indexing 2,700 general reference, business, health, social science, education, science, humanities and news and current events titles (coverage from 1/84). 1,800 titles have searchable full text (coverage from 1/90).  Also includes Clinical Reference Systems, Health Source Plus, (full text for 255 health periodicals) and USP DI Volume II, Advice for the Patient, etc.

top

 
auto repair center
 EBSCOhost Auto Repair Center (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.) The auto repair information contained in this Auto Repair Reference Center™ database will cover the complete automotive repair manuals that were originally published in the Chilton Total Car Care Series.
The content will include more than 150 easy-to-read, illustrated auto repair manuals on all auto repair procedures for about 21,000 vehicles identified in the AAIA table (a table of numerical ID codes for every car made); more than 56,000 Technical Service Bulletins; wiring diagrams; and labor time estimates. Text and many images will be available in PDF and GIF format.
Every major manufacturer for domestic and imported vehicles is represented including auto repair manuals for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954. New repair procedures/updates will be added continuously, and Technical Service Bulletins will be added on a monthly or quarterly basis.

top


Ebsco Host Spanish Interface
EBSCOhost (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)

Spanish language interface to EBSCOhost  Articles may be translated from English to Spanish or other languages by specifying the output language in the "Escoger Idioma" drop-down box and then clicking   the "Traducir" button.
 

top


 ebscohost
Green Info Online
GreenFILE(tm) is a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.

top


InfoTrac
InfoTrac (via Texshare) (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)

Includes Custom Newspapers (Austin American Statesman 1/96-, Christian Science Monitor 1/96-, Dallas Morning News 1/96-, Fort Worth Star Telegram 5/99-, Houston Chronicle 1/96-, Knight Ridder 1/96-4/99, L.A. Times 1/96-, N.Y. Times rolling 90 day file, Washington Post 1/96-) and Health Reference Center-Academic, 1996- (articles on Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.)
 

top

JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive JSTOR: the Scholarly Journal Archive

JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

top


Learning Express
LearnATest.com (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)

A source of test preparation materials and interactive practice exams, based on official tests, that will help you improve your scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams. LearnATest now includes TAKS preparation exams.

LearnATest.com provides immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and individualized analysis of your score.

To gain FREE access to the LearnATest.com's test preparation materials you will need to register.

top


netlibrary
NetLibrary
Provides Dallas Public Library card holders access to more than 27,000 electronic books, viewable using the free Adobe Reader.

top


NewsBank

NewsBank Online Service  (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)

Dallas Morning News 1984-current: Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.

Dallas Morning News Archive (1885-1977): a unique full-image digital collection documenting major events in Texas, nationally and internationally as reported in the newspaper.

National newspaper package (530 newspapers including New York Times): Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. The New York Times archives date back to the year of 2000. Other major newspapers also have archives, ranging from 1 year to 10+ years.

Texas newspaper package: It is similar to the National newspaper package except it covers all Texas major newspapers. Also includes archives, ranging from 1 year to 5 years.

America's Obituaries and Death Notices: an unique resource providing easy access to obituaries and death notices across the United States, assisting patrons seeking information on family history, creating genealogy charts, or looking for current information.

top


Reference USA
ReferenceUSA (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)

Business Module:
Over 14 million businesses. Data includes: Company Name, Address , Phone Number, Fax Number, Estimated Sales Volume, Number of Employees, Type of Business (SIC Code or Yellow Page Heading), Key Contact Names, Titles and Gender, Credit Rating Code, Company Financials, Stock Information, Public Filings, and News Headlines/Articles from over 900 different sources.

Residential Module: 120 million consumer households. Data includes: Name, Address, City, State, ZIP Code, Phone Number, Age, Median Income, Median Home Value

top

 
Spanish Books in Print

Spanishbooksinprint.com  (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)

Tu recurso formal e imparcial para titulos en español!

Busque libros, titulos audio y titulos video en venta, no en venta, y próximos. Titulos españoles y información detallado sobre editoriales.

top


ebscohost
Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center (TRC) is an index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books . This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

top


TexShare logo 
TexShare  (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)  Brought to you in cooperation with the Texas State Library, this vast resource includes more than 60 collections including:

top


World Book
 
World Book Online (Enter Dallas Public Library card number without spaces.)

All articles from the 22-volume print set of the World Book Encyclopedia, plus 3,200 more; 15,000 Web links; links to over 30,000 articles in 107 periodicals; over 8,500 pictures and maps; more than 800 videos, animations, and sounds; 129 3-D bubble views; and more.   

top

Available Only at the Central Library

Biography & Genealogy Master Index

Available at Central Library only -- Genealogy: 8th floor.

The Biography and Genealogy Master Index is designed to help you easily determine which publication to consult for biographical information. Indexed sources cover both living and deceased persons from every field of activity and from every country in the world. Typically current, readily available, standard reference works are indexed. Look for supplement volume updates to this valuable biographical research tool twice a year. These volumes are cumulated every five years.

More than 15 million citations compiled from more than 5,000 editions and volumes of approximately 1,700 current and retrospective biographical sources are included in the Biography and Genealogy Master Index base set and its supplements. In total, Biography and Genealogy Master Index provides coverage of nearly 5 million contemporary and historical figures.

top

Foundation Directory

Foundation Center logo

 

Available at Central Library only.
Government Information Center: 6th floor.

Used mainly by nonprofit agencies searching for foundation grants, this database from the Foundation Center includes:

  • Detailed profiles of 80,000 funders with fields of interest, financials, and contacts
  • Descriptions of more than 334,000 recently reported grants enhanced application guidelines
  • Extensive program descriptions for the largest funders

top

Foundation Grants to Individuals

Foundation Center logo  

Available at Central Library only.
Government Information Center: 6th floor.
  • Detailed profiles of 80,000 funders with fields of interest, financials, and contacts
  • Descriptions of more than 334,000 recently reported grants enhanced application guidelines
  • Extensive program descriptions for the largest funders

top

USA Trade Online / STAT USA
Available at Central Library only.
Government Information Center: 6th floor.

State of the Union®
(SOTN). A repository of economic indicators on topics such as employment, wholesale and retail prices, monetary and housing trends, gross domestic product, etc.

Global Business Opportunities
(GLOBUS) & the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB®). Includes over 200,000 current and historical documents on export opportunities by industry, country, and product; political and socio-economic conditions in hundreds of countries.

top

United Nations Statistical Database Available at Central Library only.
Government Information Center: 6th floor.

United Nations Common Database (UNCD) is a multi-disciplinary source containing data elements from more than 400 statistical series, on topics including: agriculture, forestry and fishing; balance of payments; communication and culture; construction; development assistance; economically active/not economically active population; education and learning; energy; environment; financial statistics; health, health services, impairment, disabilities, nutrition; households and families, marital status, fertility; human settlements, housing, geographic distribution of population; income, consumption and wealth; industrial production; international finance; international tourism; international trade; mining and quarrying; national accounts; population composition and change; prices; public order and safety; science and technology, intellectual property; services industries; social security and welfare services; socio-economic groups and social mobility; transport; women and men.

top

 

Homepage | Catalog | Library Locations